Mississippi News

FEMA public assistance approved after June tornadoes

Credit: Gov. Tate Reeves news release

Gov. Tate Reeves’ request for Individual and Public Assistance (FEMA-4727 DR-MS) for counties affected by the June 14-19 severe weather and tornadoes was approved by the White House. The state experienced a record-setting number of tornadoes for June 2023, with 19 tornadoes in total.

Sixteen counties were approved for Public Assistance and two for Individual Assistance.

Public Assistance was approved for the following sixteen counties: ClaiborneCopiahCovingtonJacksonJasper, JeffersonJefferson DavisLawrenceLeakeNeshobaNewtonRankinScottSimpsonSmith, and Wayne counties as well as The Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians. Public assistance is available to local governments and eligible private non-profit agencies to assist in emergency work costs and repairing or replacing disaster-damaged facilities.

Individual Assistance was also approved for Jackson and Jasper counties.  Individual assistance is available to residents in those two counties and can include grants for temporary housing, home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of this disaster.

Residents in Jackson and Jasper counties who sustained losses during the June 14-19 severe weather can now apply for assistance by registering online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. Disaster Number is: (FEMA-4727 DR-MS)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *