Mississippi News

Reeves asks FEMA for assistance following April storms

Mississippi Gov. Tate Reeves is requesting Individual Assistance from FEMA for six counties impacted by the severe storms, flooding, straight-line winds, and tornadoes from April 8-11. During that time frame, the state experienced 13 tornadoes, and two people lost their lives.

This includes a request for individual assistance for Hancock, Hinds, Humphreys, Madison, Neshoba, and Scott Counties following the severe weather event.

FEMA-validated numbers show the number of homes destroyed or with major damage:

  • Hancock County: 35 homes
  • Hinds County: 44 homes
  • Humphreys County: 41 homes
  • Madison County: 31 homes
  • Neshoba County: 21 homes
  • Scott County: 32 homes

“The state of Mississippi has been working with local and federal partners to assess the damage from these storms,” said Reeves. “This disaster declaration request will help Mississippians restore, rebuild, and recover.”

 If Individual assistance is approved to residents in those six counties it can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of this disaster.

The State must meet FEMA requirements to be approved for the individual assistance declaration. In the meantime, MEMA is tracking citizens’ needs and working closely with non-profit organizations to assist survivors.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *