Mississippi News

2024 Dixie National Parade Awards

Mississippi’s Miss Hospitality Abney Grace Pittman presented the 2024 Dixie National Parade awards to winning participants following the parade on Saturday, Feb. 10, inside the Mississippi Farmers Market. The procession included an array of rodeo and other title queens, marching bands, floats, car and tractor clubs, riding groups, the famous Dixie National Wagon Train and more.

Every year, first and second place winners are chosen within each category of parade participants including best motorized club, marching group, float and riding group, as well as first, second and third place winners from the Dixie National Wagon Train. In addition, an overall best group was chosen from over 45 parade entries for the coveted Commissioner’s Award.

A panel of local celebrity and distinguished judges determined this year’s winners including Maggie Wade, WLBT News Anchor; Ty Franklin, Mississippi 4-H President; Ashton Luke, Mississippi FFA President; and Lisa Moore, Boswell Media Marketing Specialist and former Miss Dixie National Rodeo.

For best motorized club, the Mississippi Army National Guard Recruiting and Retention Battalion was awarded first place, and the 1941 Mississippi Misfits Jeep Club of Rankin County took home second place. In marching groups, the Jim Hill High School Marching Band, located in Hinds County, earned first place and the Tishomingo Avengers of Rankin County took home second place. For best decorative floats, the Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce’s (MDAC) Genuine MS® Program, based out of Hinds County, received first place and the Mystic Wind Choctaw Dancers of Neshoba County received second place. In best riding clubs, Deviney Equipment and Massey Cattle Company of Hinds County were awarded first place, and the Chula Homa Hounds of Madison County took home second.

Eight individual wagon trains from around the state of Mississippi make up the famous Dixie National Wagon Train. This year, Mississippi’s Miss Hospitality Abney Grace Pittman awarded third place to the North Wagon Train, second place went to the Smith County Wagon Train, and the Mt. Olive Wagon Train took home first place. In addition, one group in particular stood out within the procession and was determined to be the best overall participant by the parade judges. This year, the Mt. Olive Wagon Train was also awarded the 2024 Commissioner’s Award.

For more information and a full event schedule on the 59th Dixie National Livestock Show and Rodeo, visit www.dixienational.org, download the mobile app and follow the Dixie National Livestock Show & Rodeo on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.