DeSoto CountyMississippi News

Mississippi Main Street Revitalization Grant Program bill signed

On May 8, Gov. Tate Reeves signed Senate Bill 2696 that establishes the Mississippi Main Street Revitalization Grant (MMSRG) program as an ongoing program under the state. This program provides funds through the Mississippi Development Authority for downtown revitalization projects in Mississippi’s local Main Street communities.

The Governor also signed Senate Bill 3056 which includes funding for 19 projects for a total of $6.972 million for the MMSRG program this year as well as $500,000 to MMSA for statewide support and operations.

The 19 Designated Main Street Communities that will be funded this year include: Amory, Biloxi, Booneville, Cleveland, Columbus, Crystal Springs, Greenville, Hattiesburg, Hernando, Moss Point, Natchez, Nettleton, New Albany, Pascagoula, Ripley, Saltillo, Senatobia, Vicksburg, and Water Valley.

“Main Street is Mississippi’s leader in downtown revitalization, and we are truly grateful for the recognition of our efforts and the confidence of the Mississippi Legislature by entrusting our organization with this grant program that is unique to our state,” said Jim Miller, MMSA Executive Director.

Each year, MMSA will open applications to eligible communities and then present a list of prioritized projects to the Mississippi Legislature. Grant funds will be available on a competitive basis for eligible projects up to $500,000 per community.

Communities with populations above 10,000 are required to provide a 20 percent local match, and communities with populations less than 10,000 are required to provide a 10 percent local match on the first $100,000 and 20 percent local match on amounts more than $100,000.

In 2023, $3 million in ARPA funding was given for eligible projects in MMSA designated communities. In 2022, $5 million in ARPA funding was allocated to Main Street communities. These ARPA-funded projects are underway in all 48 Designated Main Street communities.

Designated communities of the Mississippi Main Street Association include: Aberdeen, Amory, Baldwyn, Batesville, Biloxi, Booneville, Byhalia, Cleveland, Clinton, Columbia, Columbus, Corinth, Crystal Springs, Greenville, Greenwood, Gulfport, Hattiesburg, Hernando, Holly Springs, Indianola, Itawamba County, Kosciusko, Laurel, Leake County, Louisville, Meridian, Moss Point, Natchez, Nettleton, New Albany, Ocean Springs, Okolona, Pascagoula, Pearl, Philadelphia, Picayune, Pontotoc County, Ripley, Saltillo, Senatobia, Starkville, Sumrall, Tunica, Tupelo, Vicksburg, Water Valley, West Point and Woodville.

“This year’s legislative success belongs to everyone in the Main Street family, and we look forward to working with the 19 recipients this year to implement these projects in Mississippi’s historic downtowns and districts,” said Marlo Dorsey, MMSA Board President. “Hopefully, this ongoing program will inspire communities to become members of the MMSA organization and apply for this program in the future.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *