Mississippi News

Mississippi Main Street celebrates 40 years, announces award winners

The Mississippi Main Street Association (MMSA) celebrated 40 years of downtown revitalization success and announced statewide award winners at its 2024 Annual Awards Luncheon at The South in downtown Jackson.

The Annual Awards Luncheon honors Main Street directors, board members, and volunteers and recognizes the most outstanding downtown revitalization projects and events from designated Main Street communities throughout Mississippi.

In celebration of MMSA’s 40th anniversary, special remarks were made by Gov. Tate Reeves, Lt. Gov. Delbert Hosemann, Katie Blount, executive director of the Mississippi Department of Archives and History, and Leah Kemp, executive director of the Fred Carl Jr. Small Town Center.

“2024 is a special year as we celebrate 40 years of Main Street and remember our founders and the leaders who have gotten our statewide organization to where we are today,” said Jim Miller, MMSA Executive Director. “Main Street programs are an important economic driver in our state, and we honor and celebrate the local and state champions each year at our Annual Awards.”

MMSA staff presented the 2024 awards to recipients from designated Main Street communities throughout the state.

This year’s award recipients are:

  • Aberdeen Main Street
  • Amory Main Street
  • Biloxi Main Street
  • Booneville Main Street Association
  • Main Street Clinton
  • Main Street Columbia, Inc.
  • Main Street Columbus
  • Main Street Greenville
  • Gulfport Main Street Association
  • Downtown Hattiesburg Association
  • Laurel Main Street
  • Meridian Main Street
  • Downtown Natchez Alliance
  • Nettleton Main Street
  • New Albany Main Street
  • Main Street Pascagoula
  • Ripley Main Street
  • Saltillo Main Street Association
  • Senatobia Main Street
  • Starkville Main Street Association
  • Tunica Main Street
  • Downtown Tupelo Main Street Association
  • Vicksburg Main Street Program
  • Water Valley Main Street Association
  • West Point Main Street
  • Woodville Main Street Association

Thirty Main Street programs also earned the Main Street Circle of Excellence and were recognized for their notable efforts in running efficient local programs and excelling with all MMSA requirements of a designated Main Street program. Medals were presented to the following communities: Aberdeen, Amory, Baldwyn, Biloxi, Booneville, Clinton, Columbus, Corinth, Crystal Springs, Greenville, Gulfport, Kosciusko, Laurel, Louisville, Meridian, Natchez, Nettleton, Pascagoula, Pearl, Pontotoc, Ripley, Saltillo, Senatobia, Starkville, Tunica, Tupelo, Vicksburg, Water Valley, West Point, and Woodville.

In addition, the 2024 Nationally Accredited and Affiliate Main Street programs were recognized, as well as new members, and Main Street directors who have served for 10 years or longer in their communities.

In 2023, Mississippi Main Street’s Designated Communities generated 372 new businesses, 71 business expansions, 868 new jobs, 170 building rehabilitations, and 704 downtown residential units. In addition, 139 public improvement projects were completed as well as 70 new construction projects in downtown business districts. More than $326 million was invested by the public and private sectors in 2023, and more than 46,919 volunteer hours were recorded.

Since 1993, MMSA has generated more than $6 billion in private and public investment (including more than $1.8 billion in public investment).

MMSA currently has 48 Designated Main Street communities, two Network communities, and 26 Associate members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *