Mississippi News

Mississippi Main Street Board of Directors, new officers named

Credit: Mississippi Main Street Association

July 8 – A new executive committee, two at-large board members, and a directors’ representative have been elected to the Mississippi Main Street Association (MMSA) Board of Directors to lead the efforts of the statewide community and economic development organization for 2024-2025.

Chris Hinton of Ridgeland has been elected to serve as MMSA board president for 2024-2025. Hinton currently serves as Community Development Manager for Entergy Mississippi. 

“As president of the Mississippi Main Street Association, I believe in the power of community. Together, we revitalize our downtowns, preserve our rich history, and create vibrant spaces that inspire community pride and progress for generations to come,” Hinton said.

Hinton serves as president of MMSA and continues to serve on boards for the Mississippi District Export Council and Jobs for MS Graduates. As Community Development Manager for Entergy Mississippi, Hinton provides economic, community and workforce development support to 45 counties. Hinton is a member of the Southern Economic Development Council, South Central MS Works and the Mississippi Economic Development Council. He holds alumnus status with Leadership Mississippi, Leadership Natchez, Delta Leadership Institute and the Harvard Kennedy School Authentic Leaders Program. 

The additional 2024-2025 MMSA executive officers include: Vice-President Kelle Barfield, owner of Lorelei Books and Delta Warren Properties in Vicksburg Treasurer Chance McDavid, project director of the John C. Stennis Institute of Government & Community Development in Starkville and Past President Marlo Dorsey, executive director of Visit Hattiesburg.

Newly elected at-large board members are Suzy Bowman of New Albany who serves as director of Mississippi Programming for Junior Achievement and Jim Rasberry of Laurel who is with Rasberry Financial Services and managing partner of Cannery Row. 

Billye Jean Stroud, director of New Albany Main Street, has also been elected as a new Directors’ Representative to serve District 3 by the directors of the 48 designated Main Street programs in Mississippi. She joins Cynthia Sutton, director of Ocean Springs Chamber – Main Street – Tourism Bureau who represents District 1, and Lisa Klutts, director of West Point Clay County Community Growth Alliance, who represents District 2. 

Board members continuing to serve on the state board include: 

  • Michelle Jones, owner of The Cottage Industry in Starkville 
  • Tomeka Durr-Wiley, commercial development project manager at Mississippi Power in Gulfport 
  • Mandy Hegwood, vice president of Neel-Schaffer, Inc. in Laurel 
  • Brent Fairley, senior vice president/market president at Hancock Whitney Bank in Gulfport 
  • Brad Reeves, attorney at Reeves, Gentry & Vitart, PLLC in Jackson 
  • Jean Kelly, director of communications and public relations at Staplcotn in Greenwood 
  • Chip Johnson, mayor of the city of Hernando 
  • Steve Kelly, board member emeritus 
  • Ken P’Pool, board member emeritus 
  • Meredith Massey, chief of preservation planning at the Mississippi Department of Archives & History 
  • Leah Kemp, director of the Fred Carl Jr. Small Town Center 
  • Tim Climer, manager at the Mississippi Development Authority

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *