Mississippi News

Webster Named Mississippi Delta CC interim president

Photo: Teresa Webster (Courtesy photo)

On June 17, the Mississippi Delta Community College Board of Trustees named Teresa Webster interim president of Mississippi Delta Community College (MDCC), effective July 1.

Webster replaces President Tyrone Jackson, who announced in May he had accepted the role of president of Southeast Arkansas College. Currently, Webster serves as the vice president of instruction at MDCC.

Teresa Webster (MDCC photo)

“To have been chosen by our esteemed Board of Trustees to lead MDCC as interim president has been deeply humbling,” Webster said. “I appreciate the confidence they have bestowed upon me to serve my alma mater in this chief role at the college. This opportunity is truly an honor and a privilege.”

Webster is beginning her 34th year of service at MDCC. She has taught for both the College of Career-Technical and Adult Education and the University Transfer program.

In 2012, Webster was tapped to assume the MDCC elearning coordinator duties along with her teaching responsibilities. She was later chosen to become the business department chair. Then, in 2016, she was selected to serve as the vice president of instruction.

Webster holds an Associate of Arts from Mississippi Delta Junior College (now Mississippi Delta Community College), a Bachelor of Science in Education with a major in Business from Delta State University and a Master of Education with an Administration and Supervision emphasis, also from Delta State University.

In recognition of her outstanding contributions to education, Webster was selected as MDCC’s HEADWAE Award winner in 2013, MDCC’s Lamplighter recipient in 2014, and MDCC’s TROJAN Teacher Award distinction in 2015.

Her commitment to professional development led her to complete the Mississippi Community College Leadership Academy in 2018. In 2021, Webster was chosen by The Enterprise-Tocsin as a Woman of Influence. She was awarded the Trojan Spirit Award in 2022.

Webster is a member of the Mississippi Association of Community Colleges Academic Officers’ Association, of which she has served as secretary and president.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *